Building a Palace

by rebsnugs

Building a palace of canvas and sheets of blue fabric

Stitching the flag of this fiborous being

Lashing the frame where it crosses above

Let it stand, overstand, through the night. 

 

Whisper your truth to me, tell me your story. 

Or ask me once more of the meaning around me. 

Our essence consistent with every encounter

Although the translation may change. 

 

Soil above me, my feet in the clouds

I am flying and falling and laughing and crying

The mailman just smiles and laments the weather

No structure supports me today. 

 

I struggle for peace and we wrestle with anger

Intolerant actions distort the whole picture

My eyes to the sunset, my ear to the ground

Let the earth take my body, digest and release

My spirit escapes to the sky. 

