Digital Printmaking

by rebsnugs

I am not a printmaker. I have only experimented with the medium in grade school (A very brief Intaglio unit). Using a digital photograph and a Wacom drawing tablet, I have been experimenting with shapes and colors to simulate a print. Hopefully someday I will transfer this to physical reality.

Sample 1:

Image

Sample 2:

Image

Sample 3:

Image

Sample 4:

Image

This is the original photograph that I sampled the shape from:

Image

And here is the shape that I made into a pattern. I increased the contrast and desaturated the image, carved away all of the rest of the image saving the “pond” and a few other details that pleased me. I think it might be a picture of a racetrack?

Image

Enough digital exploration for now. Thank you Pet Shop Boys for helping me through this process.

